Friday, July 31, 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Release Date:
Publisher:
Source: Library
Author Links: Goodreads | Website | Twitter
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beastwith faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


Here's the thing: I went into this with really low expectations. I'd read several reviews that (while not bad) were definitely not what I would call glowing. What did they have in common? Well, they all seemed to come from friends of mine that were really excited to read the book, but just weren't blown away by the plot or pace of the story.
Me?
I was just kind of  hoping I wouldn't be bored.
And I wasn't! I flew through it in a couple of days, and was pretty satisfied with everything.
Although, I didn't realize this was a series, so at the end I was all like, Why are you leaving me hanging, Maas?! 
But, fortunately, there are more books to come, and now I'll eventually find out what that one dude was saying right before he disappears into thin air. Maybe each book will portray a different fairytale? Does anyone have this information? Share please!
This has nothing to do with the book, but Maas could totally make The Little Mermaid one of those water faeries...sprites, I think? How cool would that be?!

This also has nothing to do with the book, but I saw it, giggled, and felt the need to share...


Why do you let me get distracted like that?! I have no self control, and you know it!
You're really going to have to do a better job keeping me on track in the future, ok?
Tsk.

So, Beauty and the Beast retelling with faeries.
Instead of an ugly clawed beast, you've got an entire manor cursed to wear masks. But, seriously, you know he's hot under that mask, so what was the point? I mean, it's only hiding his eyes and a bit of his nose. How fugly can the area surrounding your eye sockets actually be, right?
He does turn into a beast, but it's more of a shape-shifter thing. Eh. It's ok.
Anyway, it turns out that's not really all of the curse, and it does have that Love-Despite-The-Differences vibe to it. It's just gonna depend on the individual reader to decide whether they like this particular spin on the classic fairytale.


Lots of people are complaining about the draggy quality this story has to it, and I'm not going to argue with them. It isn't fast-paced or action packed. But I was really expecting it to be BAD.
Like, bad-bad-bad-bad-bad. It's not. It's just over-hyped, so if you go into it expecting the Best Story You've Read All Year, you're (more than likely) going to walk away from it with a bad taste in your mouth.


I think the last bit was my favorite, because I've never seen it played out where Belle (sorry, Feyre) was too stupid to say I love you.
So, what happens when Beauty doesn't break the curse in time?


At that point (albeit late in the game), this story got my attention. I would have enjoyed the ending even more if I had realized it wasn't a self-contained story, but looking back on it, it was pretty cool.
Maas doesn't pull too many punches, and some of what happened really shocked the hell out me.
Color me officially interested in where the rest of this series goes...


3 comments:

Post a Comment

Due to an increase in spam, all comments are moderated. Even if you do not see an "awaiting approval" message, please only submit your comment once. Sorry for the inconvenience.