Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Review: Enamoured by Shannon Curtis





For readers of Stephanie Bond and Darynda Jones, fairy tales as you’ve never seen them before. The debut in a series that mixes suspense, sex, and just a sprinkle of fairy dust.
Once Upon a Crime…
Melanie wants to get incriminating information on her evil stepfather and she’ll get it – even if it means giving in to an odious toad’s demands. Cole is undercover, and when the opportunity arises for him to get closer to the criminal he’s investigating using the man’s beautiful stepdaughter, he grabs it.
Esmerelda is a Fairy Godmother Enforcer charged with getting the Frog Prince fairytale back on track. But fate has saddled her with a partner, and Rumpelstiltskin – with his sexy bad boy swagger – has a hidden agenda of his own.
In the Fairy Isle, nothing is as it seems…

Release Date: May 1, 2013
Publisher: Escape Publishing
Source: NetGalley
Author Links: Website | FacebookGoodreads




I love fairytale retellings. Love them!
It's hard to find one that's actually good, though.
So is Enamoured good, you ask?
Well, yes. Yes, it is.
But it's not a good fairytale retelling.
Huh?
I can see that you're confused, so I'll explain

Yes, it's a good novella. The hero and heroine are both likable, the villain is deliciously evil, the plot is fun, and the romance is cute. Except that nothing in the story has anything to do with The Frog Prince tale. I mean, there are a couple of Fairy Godmother Enforcers who are working behind the scenes to supposedly get the fairytale back on track, but if it weren't for them saying that this was somehow related to a fairytale, I honestly wouldn't have noticed anything remotely fairytaleish about the plot. I would have just thought it was a good romantic short-story. So if you're looking for a good retelling...look elsewhere.

However, if you're looking for a fun romance with some fairies running around in the background, then this book would fit the bill. It's far more well-rounded than most novellas that I've read, and I didn't feel like I was getting gypped out of a back story, plot, or ending. Nothing felt rushed at all, and that is fairly unusual. I've read some novellas by authors who already have a well-known character in place, and still haven't been able to pull that off. Lots of stuff labeled Blah Blah 1.5 or Blah Blah 3.5 come to mind.

So, no, it wasn't what I was hoping for, but I really enjoyed it anyway. If nothing else, it made me want to check out more by this author. In fact, if the ending of Enamoured was any indicator, it looks like there will be more stories featuring Rump and Esmerelda in the future. If so, bring it on! Those two were adorable!



3 comments:

Danielle Romero said...

So i know you didn't love it, but the cover is GORGEOUS!
I think I'd buy it for that reason alone lol

Addicted2Heroines said...

It reminds me of the cover for The Treachery of Beautiful Things =)

Braine TS said...

WHOA!

Obviously I've been away for far too long because I've missed Anna's intro!

Hi Anna! I'm one of A2H (lazy) stalkers.

Cat & Jamie - finally, your little trinity header is complete!

Post a Comment

Due to an increase in spam, all comments are moderated. Even if you do not see an "awaiting approval" message, please only submit your comment once. Sorry for the inconvenience.