Saturday, October 20, 2012

Interview & Giveaway with artist Nathalia Suellen!


Fans of Jenna Black, Gena Showalter, Leah Bobet, Allison Pang, and many other fantasy authors, meet the artist responsible for the cover designs you love. Nathalia Suellen aka Lady Symphonia, Brazilian digital artist, shares with us her inspirations, a little about her process, the strangest request she's ever had, and more!


          Cat: First, I want to say that I'm a huge fan of your work. I've been impressed by every book cover design that you've created. But I have to admit, I know little about the process. Who is it that initially contacts you about creating a book cover and how do you decide which jobs you will accept?
Nathalia: Thank you for the kind words! About the process, it is quite simple. Who initially contacts me is usually the company OR the author itself (when it's an independent author). Some prefer to leave all the process and ideas to me, however I always prefer that the author or the company says exactly, or at least give me some hints about, what they want in a cover. 
In general, I accept a job based on the book content. I usually accept most of the books someone asks me, from horror to fantasy. However I always try to filter some themes such as demoniac, witchery, extreme mature or other. Besides that, all other books are accepted.
Cat: The cover for Gena Showalter's Last Kiss Goodnight is stunning! How long did that take you to create and what is the longest that you've ever worked on one piece? 
Nathalia: Showalter's new book was a pleasure and a opportunity to go beyond the edge. It took around 3 months, not only the art but the whole process and the discussion as well. The companies always have in their mind "stunning/never-seen/original books" and because of that, everytime I start something I chase myself for being more original than my previous works. And I have improved with this kind of thought drummed into my head while doing a new work. So, I remember they had asked me to create something romantic, ethereal and somehow sexy. The first thought was to create a red and somehow alive dress. And they liked it at the first sight. However the longest I've ever worked (when saying about books) was "Above" by Scholastic. Almost 5 months.
Cat: Who are some artists that have been an inspiration to you?
Nathalia: Tim Burton of course, I really love him. And also others like Victoria Frances, Ray Caesar, Tom Bagshaw, Dan dos Santos and much more. 
Cat: Of everything you've created, what piece is your personal favorite?
Nathalia: Oh, don't ask a mother to choose a favorite child. :) You know, each one was an improvement, each one was important for me in a different way.  But if I have to choose one, that will be Queen of Hearts. 
Cat: Can you share with us the strangest art request that you've ever had?
Nathalia: Was an advertising about a bullet proof glass. They wanted the Grim Reaper stuck in a glass as a way to show that the glass was so strong that not even death would be able to enter. 
Cat: Do you ever read the novels that you've created covers for? If so, which would you recommend?
Nathalia: Actually no. I honestly still didn't find time.
Cat: Can you tell us about any projects that you are currently working on? 
Nathalia: I'm closing my very first 4 years in digital art with an art book called "LadySymphonia, The Beginning" that will be launched very soon. 
Besides that and still a surprise, I'm currently working on a new art collection that will be very similar to a movie with many intriguing and dramatic stories, planned to be launched next year.
Cat: Thank you so much for taking the time out to answer these questions, Nathalia! I'm looking forward to seeing what you'll create next. 
Nathalia: Thank you for your questions. 






Lady Symphonia | Facebook | DeviantArt

Nathalia Suellen is a digital dark artist from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. She discovered her passion for digital art and photography in 2008 and since then she has began her journey as a self taught artist, mainly focused on macabre and dark imagery. At only nineteen, she started her own business, Lady Symphonia Digital Art and consequently, taking her very first clients which allowed her to improve and challenge herself. Her strange and emotional dark vision drew attention from a great public of artists, photographers, clients and admirers worldwide.
Nathalia's client list consists of many bands, publishers, photographers and artists in general. Including Random House, PenguinGroup, Simon&Schuster, Mccann Erickson among others.







Win your choice of one of the books listed above (all cover designs by Nathalia).

How to enter - 

Must be a follower of this blog via GFC, Linky, or e-mail.

Also, you must "like" Nathalia Suellen on FB or follow her via Twitter.

Leave a comment with which book you'd choose. 

Include your e-mail address.

Giveaway is international. Ends 10/27.





24 comments:

x) Ruty said...

I love all the covers :)
My choice would be The splendor falls.
Follower via GFC
and I liked Nathalia's FB page!!

Ruty@Reading...Dreaming

rbenibooks(at)gmail(dot)com

Krista Raven said...

I am a follower GFC, Liked on FB name on FB Krista Bookreview and Follow on twitter handle @bookblogmama
I love her art this is amazing I would pick Splintered I would love to read!!!
email
bookreviewclubblog@aol.com
US
Krista

Jessi (Geo) said...

Great interview! I'm amazed at the time spent on some of the projects. They look incredible! Great job, Nathalia.
Thanks for the giveaway, I'd love to snag Dark Descendant. :)
geobobspinelli[at]gmail[dot]com
twitter: @geobobspinelli

Nina said...

Awesome giveaway! Those covers are fab. They are really beautiful.
I would choose: Above! :)
nina.happyendings@yahoo.co.uk

kara-karina@Nocturnal Book Reviews said...

I would love to read The Splendor Falls! Such beautiful covers, I'm definitely featuring Natalia's art next time I talk about book cover artists - she is fabulous!
Thank yo for a gorgeous giveaway!
GFC follower
Twitter follower @karakarinanbr

impy80 at hotmail dot com

nurmawati djuhawan said...

i would choose ABOVE...
thx u for the chance of win :)

GFC : nurmawati djuhawan
FB : nurmawati djuhawan
twitter : @chiko_jubilee
email : chikojubilee at gmail dot com

-nurma-

sienny said...

I like all cover, but i love dark descendant's best.

Followed on gfc (sienny)
Liked on fb (sienny zne)

smile_1773 at yahoo dot com

Koll said...

I'd choose The Splendor Falls :)
Thanks for the giveaway :)
GFC follower
Twitter @KollLotus

Thildeespensen (at) live (dot) dk

SdyLion said...

I love the artwork- it is fantastic!! I would choose A BRUSH OF DARKNESS by Allison Pang if I had a choice. I did like the FB page and follow the twitter link (Sandy Lion/@sdylion)I follow this site via email: sdylion(at)gmail(dot)com Thanks again!

AquarianDancer said...

I would choose A Brush of Darkness. The cover is striking.

I follow by email - AquarianDancer at gmail dot com
I like Nathalia on Facebook - Karin Anderson.

PuttPutt1198Eve said...

I would love Dark Descendant by Jenna Black. The cover is great! I follow via email and I liked Nathalia on Facebook.
puttputt1198eve at comcast dot net

Kristia said...

WOW these are some breathtaking covers!! Love them all :)

I would choose The Splendor Falls, thank you for the giveaway!
email subscriber.

I like Nathalia Suellen's page on FB: Kristia Miltiadou
Twitter follower: @MiltiadouK

milkristia(at)hotmail(dot)com

Mary Preston said...

They are fabulous covers.

I would choose DARK DESCENDENT,

Email Subscriber

"like" Nathalia Suellen on FB: Mary Preston

marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

Levina Goon said...

Beautiful covers, especially Dark Descendant and Above! Last Kiss Goodnight is also amazing with the contrast of color and black/white. I would pick Dark Descendant for the giveaway (I'm a follower via email: levinag1@gmail.com) and followed Nathalia via Twitter (@Levina_SF).

Natasha said...

I would choose Above.
I liked the Nathalia Sullen FB page: Natasha Donohoo
I follow by email: natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

mobb said...

i really love Last Kiss Goodbye's cover.=)

LennarRrt Olausson said...

I like: Above
I'm: lennarrrt@hotmail.com
&
http://www.facebook.com/people/Lennarrt-Olausson/674299102

Drink Espresso - God bless U! :)

Nathalia Suellen said...

<3 good luck everyone.

Aly said...

I'd love "A Brush of Darkness"
GFC Alina
Liked Nathalia's FB page(Alina Popescu)

I browsed through some of your work and it's AMAZING! You are truly talented Nathalia!
Thank you for the giveaway

alinutza4u2004(at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)uk

Gurlonthemove said...

I Would Like Either Above or A Brush of Darkness.

Facebook: Christiane Cardinal
GFC: Christiane Cardinal
Email: christiane_dude@hotmail.com

Great Work!

Ayse S said...

I'd choose 'the splendor falls'.
I'm subscribed via email and follow on twitter @keepmewideawake .
I love the cover for 'above' :)

Ayse S said...

Whoops forgot my email address remedyformydreams@gmail.com

Maris said...

Would love to win Dark Descendant by Jenna Black. Thanks so much for the giveaway. I love Nathalie's artwork. A lot of times, I'll buy books based on the cover to collect them as art. dsr002(at)gmail(dot)com
facebook: damaris sanchez

Na said...

I love these covers! It must be fun creating them :) I would love to read A Brush of Darkness.

GFC: Na
Liked FB page: Fiery Na
Cambonified(at)yahoo(dot)com

Post a Comment

Due to an increase in spam, all comments are moderated. Even if you do not see an "awaiting approval" message, please only submit your comment once. Sorry for the inconvenience.